NIGERIA Football Federation’s (NFF) interim president Aminu Maigari has been elected as the new president of the country’s football governing body, in an election conducted Thursday at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

Former secretary-general of NFA Sani Toro secured five votes, Nigeria premier League (NPL) chairman Oyuiki Obaseki got four votes, Shehu Dikko got two votes, Fan Ndubuoke one vote and Lumumba Adeh got zero votes along with Segun Odegbami, Bukola Olopade and Tijani Yusuf.

Odegbami, Olopade and Yusuf all withdrew from the elections, but electoral committee did not acknowledge their withdrawals, saying it did not comply with the statutes, which requires a one-week’s notice.

Former Super Eagles’ Team Manager Mike Umeh was elected First Vice President with 26 votes ahead of Jarret Tenebe with 13, former executive committee member Obinna Ogba with 2 votes and Fanny Amun with 3 votes.

Effiong Johnson was elected unopposed with 42 votes as Chairman of Chairmen, the position previously held by impeached board member Taiwo Ogunjobi.

An attempt to stop the elections by NANS President Harrison Jalla, who was accompanied by a court bailiff and some policemen, was prevented by armed policemen at the International Conference Centre, Abuja, where the elections were held.

Maigari who had been at the helm of affairs at the football house since the impeachment of the former president Sani Lulu becomes the 38th president of the Nigeria Football Federation founded in 1945.

Contact Us…

Please send your Press Release/Articles/ Stories/Enquiries to:

Views expressed herein are not necesarily that of  New African Press  but that of the individual writers. Facts and accuracies are the responsibilities of the authors. Please also note that some people may use pseudo names or generic emails, to which New African Press may not be able to verify. Therefore, an author’s identity should not be inferred on the basis of name, subject matter, or any other characterization presented here.

Pls leave your comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This blog claims no credit for any images posted unless where otherwise stated. Images on this blog are copyright to its respectful owners. If there is an image appearing on this blog that belongs to you and you do not wish for it to appear on this site, please E-mail with a link to the image and it will be promptly removed.

%d bloggers like this: