Former Finance Minister and World Bank Managing Director Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala as well as Central Bank Governor Sanusi Lamido Sanusi are among 186 Nigerians to be conferred with the 2009 National Honours Award just approved by President Goodluck Jonathan.

While Wayas will get the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON) award, Sanusi will be awarded the Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON).
A press statement by the National Honours Award Committee yesterday in Abuja said nobody would be given the nation’s highest national honours of GCFR, which is reserved for serving heads of state. However, three people including Wayas will get the GCON award.

Others for the GCON award are former Chief of General Staff, Rear Admiral Mike Akhigbe and Chief Justice of the Federation Justice Aloysius Katsina-Alu.
The statement signed by the Committee’s Secretary, Mallam Shehu Malumfashi, listed Commander of the Federal Republic (CFR) awardees to include Okonjo Iweala, immediate past Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon Patricia Etteh; another former Speaker of House of Representatives, Hon Ghali Umar Na’Abba, and Chief of Staff to President Jonathan, Chief Mike Oghiadhome.

Thirteen in all are to be awarded CFR honours, 27 including African Petroleum Chairman Mr. Femi Otedola will get CON award while 43 will be awarded the Officer of the Federal Republic (OFR) honours including Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commis-sion (EFCC) Mrs. Farida Waziri.

Others in the CON category include Second Republic Governors Alhaji Balarabe Musa and Alhaji Lateef Jakande, Governor Bukola Saraki of Kwara State, former Education Minister, Dr Sam Egwu; ex-Delta State Governor, Chief Felix Ibru; former Director of Defence Intelligence under military President Ibrahim Babangida, Brig. Gen Haliru Akilu; first military governor of Kwara State, Brig. Gen David Bamgboye; former Petroleum Minister, Prof Tam David-West; Special Adviser on Power, Prof Barth Nnaji and Constitutional lawyer, Prof Ben Nwabueze.

Others who to be conferred with OFR award are Foreign Affairs Minister Odein Ajumogobia and his Commerce and Industry counterpart, Jubril Martins-Kuye.

Forty-six are listed as awardees in the Officer of the Order of Niger (OON) category, 22 in the Member Federal Republic (MFR) honours list while 25 will bag the Member Order of the Niger (MON) award. The remaining seven awardees will be conferred with the Federal Republic Medal.
The date for the investiture is to be announced later.

Contact Us…

Please send your Press Release/Articles/ Stories/Enquiries to: editor@newafricanpress.com

Views expressed herein are not necesarily that of  New African Press  but that of the individual writers. Facts and accuracies are the responsibilities of the authors. Please also note that some people may use pseudo names or generic emails, to which New African Press may not be able to verify. Therefore, an author’s identity should not be inferred on the basis of name, subject matter, or any other characterization presented here.

Pls leave your comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This blog claims no credit for any images posted unless where otherwise stated. Images on this blog are copyright to its respectful owners. If there is an image appearing on this blog that belongs to you and you do not wish for it to appear on this site, please E-mail with a link to the image and it will be promptly removed.

%d bloggers like this: