SOUTH AFRICA 2010: Lars Lagerback Unveils Killer Squad.

Lars Lagerback's killer sqaud

1996 Olympics gold –winning team captain, Nwankwo Kanu will attend his third World Cup after being named among Nigeria’s final cut of 23 for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

The list was released Monday morning by Technical Adviser Lars Lagerback at the Nigeria team’s pre –World Cup training camp.

But there was no place for joint top scorer in the qualifying series Ikechukwu Uche as well as two Beijing Olympics silver medallists, defender Onyekachi Apam and forward Victor Anichebe. Also dropped were Peter Utaka, Brown Ideye and two home boys Bassey Akpan and Terna Suswan.
Vice Captain Joseph Yobo, just recovering from injury, is also listed, as well as fellow 2002 World Cup star John Chukwudi Utaka.

Goalkeepers Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide and Bamidele Aiyenugba are selected, with defenders Taye Taiwo, Chidi Odiah, Rabiu Afolabi, Ayodele Adeleye, Danny Shittu and Elderson Echiejile joining Yobo.
Midfielders are John Mikel Obi, Yusuf Ayila, Kalu Uche, Dickson Etuhu, Lukman Haruna and Sani Kaita. Forwards are Osaze Odemwingie, John Utaka, Nwankwo Kanu, Chinedu Obasi, Obinna Nsofor, Obafemi Martins and Yakubu Aiyegbeni.

Of the lot, Kanu will be making his third World Cup appearance while Enyeama, Ejide, Yobo, Afolabi and Utaka were in Nigeria’s 2002 World Cup squad. Odemwingie was also in that squad but as one of two alternate players, the other being Ogbonna Kanu.

Haruna, captain of Nigeria’s winning squad at the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Korea Republic, equalized for the Super Eagles in Sunday’s 1-1 draw with Colombia. It was the Nigeria’s team’s penultimate friendly before the World Cup finals.


Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Bamidele Aiyenugba

Defenders: Taye Taiwo, Rabiu Afolabi, Chidi Odiah, Ayodele Adeleye, Danny Shittu, Joseph Yobo, Elderson Echiejile

Midfielders: Haruna Lukman, Mikel Obi, Kalu Uche, Yusuf Ayila, Dickson Etuhu, Sani Kaita

Forwards: Nwankwo Kanu, Osaze Odemwingie, John Utaka, Chinedu Obasi, Obafemi Martins, Obinna Nsofor, Yakubu Aiyegbeni

Contact Us…

Please send your Press Release/Articles/ Stories/Enquiries to:

Views expressed herein are not necesarily that of  New African Press  but that of the individual writers. Facts and accuracies are the responsibilities of the authors. Please also note that some people may use pseudo names or generic emails, to which New African Press may not be able to verify. Therefore, an author’s identity should not be inferred on the basis of name, subject matter, or any other characterization presented here.

Pls leave your comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This blog claims no credit for any images posted unless where otherwise stated. Images on this blog are copyright to its respectful owners. If there is an image appearing on this blog that belongs to you and you do not wish for it to appear on this site, please E-mail with a link to the image and it will be promptly removed.

%d bloggers like this: